Skip to main content
Publish date:

Greg Studrawa - 2011 Offensive Line Coach of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Greg Studrawa (LSU) is the 2011 FootballScoop Offensive Line Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs. 

Stud is in his fifth season in Baton Rouge and has produced 4 All-SEC linemen and two All Americans for LSU since coming from Bowling Green where he directed the offense. In addition to serving as offensive line coach, this Summer Stud also took on the responsibilities of offensive coordinator for LSU when Steve Kragthorpe was diagnosed with Parkinson's disease. Stud has LSU 13-0 and playing for the national championship. 

Stud’s offensive line has paved the way for the #17 ranked rush offense this season gaining over 215 yards per contest. Running backs have had little trouble finding the openings and are averaging nearly 5 yards per carry (#25 nationally). The Tiger’s have only allowed opponents to sack Jared Jefferson and Jarrett Lee 14 times this season, (just over one sack per game) which ranks 22nd nationally.

Screen Shot_2011-12-12_at_9.01.45_AM

As the game wears on, the holes get bigger, and the offensive line has played better. The Tigers have gained 2,797 yards rushing on the season, with 1,885 coming in the second half or overtime. That’s an impressive 67 percent of their rushing yardage that came in the second half.

Not that all that wouldn't have been enough; but the fact that Stud has done all of this without his top lineman (Josh Dworaczyk was lost for the year before the season started) and has had to constantly adjust personnel due to injuries makes his job even more impressive. Think back to the first game of the season vs. Oregon. Stud's guys were consistently getting to the second level and the backs were gaining six or seven yards before first contact. Then, in their last game (SEC Championship vs. Georgia), the offensive line took over the game in the second half and just dominated Georgia's defensive line. 

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Studrawa, Cameron Norcorss of Nevada and Ed Warinner of Notre Dame) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

Previous winners of the Offensive Line Coach of the Year award are Steve Greatwood (Oregon, 2008), Tony Wise (Pitt, 2009) and Bob Bostad (Wisconsin, 2010).


5th in Rushing TDs 

 13th in Sacks Allowed

67% of Rushing Yards in 2nd Half

Seemlessly adjusted to play-calling duties

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit