Skip to main content
Publish date:

Hunter Hughes - 2011 Division II Coordinator of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Hunter Hughes (CSU Pueblo) is the 2011 FootballScoop Division II Coordinator of the Year presented by SpeedTracs.

Defensive coordinator Hunter Hughes has built one of the premier defenses in D-II football at CSU Pueblo in only their fourth season of sponsoring football; and we mean it, he built it from scratch. Hughes came to Pueblo with head coach John Wristen, after spending time as a defensive assistant at the University of Colorado and the University of Tennessee to start this program from nothing. 

Screen Shot_2011-12-19_at_9.03.34_AM

Head coach John Wristen told FootballScoop, "Hunter really deserves the credit for building the foundation of this defense. This year he really put his own spin on it, and the guys played at an extremely high level. This was a special season."

Hughes has led a defense that showed significant improvement over last season in nearly every major defensive category. This season the ThunderWolves were #4 in rushing defense (90 yards per game), #3 nationally in pass efficiency defense (95.3), #11 in total defense (287 yards per game), and #1 in scoring defense (10 points per game).

Turnovers have been a key for Colorado State – Pueblo ranking #3 in the nation in turnover margin (1.42). The defense has gained 34 turnovers on the season, with 8 fumbles gained and an impressive 26 interceptions. Defensive backs Stephan Dickens and Mark Sterling had 5 interceptions each and linebacker Lee Meisner and defensive back Jon Bailey each had 4.

In their last five games of the season, Hughes’ defense only allowed one team to throw for over 100 yards, and their most dominant performance might have come against Western State when they allowed only 6 net yards rushing on 31 attempts (.19 yards per carry). The secondary is arguably one of the best in the nation allowing no touchdown passes in 8 of their 12 games this season. Hughes’ defense allowed only 4 touchdown passes the entire season.

One Colorado high school coach who nominated Coach Hughes said, "Hunter is the type of coach that you want your boys to play for and to be around for four years. He's a great coach and a better person."

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Hughes, Kienus Boulware - Winston Salem, Charlie Flohr - NW Missouri State and Brian Natkin & Roderick Taylor - Midwestern State) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

Previous winners of the FCS Coordinator of the Year award are Tim Beck (Pitt State, 2008), Scott Preston (Arkansas Tech, 2009) and Ken Collums (Abilene Christian, 2010).


1st Nationally in Scoring Defense

4th in Rush Defense

Forced 34 turnovers

Only allowed 4 passing TDs

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit