Skip to main content

Joe Robinson - 2010 Special Teams Coordinator of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Joe Robinson (LSU) is the 2010 FootballScoop Special Teams Coordinator of the Year presented by SpeedTracs. 

Robinson directed the LSU special teams which finished in the top 13 nationally in net punting, kick-off return average, and punt return average. Opponents reached the 40 yard-line on just 7 of 74 kick-off returns, and their average starting field position after a kick-off was just the 23 yard-line.

Joe Robinson

Head coach Les Miles told FootballScoop, “This is a tremendous honor for Joe Rob. The production that we got from our special teams proved to be the difference in winning and losing several games this year. Our kickers were outstanding and our return game and coverage units gave us an advantage in field position. It’s great to see Coach Robinson rewarded for all of his hard work and the great job that he has done. He’s certainly deserving of this award.”

The LSU punt team allowed a total of 12 returns for 59 yards all season. What about game-changing plays? The Tigers’ field goal unit executed an over-the-shoulder flip on the final drive to setup a game-winning touchdown. Punt return specialist Patrick Peterson changed the game with his touchdown return in the 20-14 win over West Virginia.

LSU did not allow a kick or punt block the entire season. 28 of 54 punts were downed inside 20 yard-line and 8 of 54 were fair caught. Place-kicker Josh Jasper connected on 26 of 31 field goals. He also pooched several punts inside the opponent’s 5 yard-line. Ball security and penalties did not hurt the Tigers special teams units.

LSU finished 10-2 and has earned a trip to the AT&T Cotton Bowl, where the Tigers will play Texas A&M on January 7th.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Joe Robinson, Joe DeForest - Oklahoma State, Tom Osborne - Oregon, and John Papuchis - Nebraska) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the 2010 winners.

Previous winners of the Special Teams Coordinator of the Year award are James Shibest (Ole Miss, 2008) and Mike Tolleson (Texas, 2009).


9th Nationally - Kick-off Return Avg. (25.7 YPR)

12th Nationally - Net Punting (39.2 YPP)

13th Nationally - Punt Return Avg. (13.5 YPR)

26 of 31 on Field Goals

2 Touchdowns, 1 Blocked Kick

Allowed just 12 punt returns for 59 yards

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit

Photo of Joe Robinson courtesy of LSU Sports Information