Skip to main content
Publish date:

John Chavis - 2011 Defensive Coordinator of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that John Chavis (LSU) is the 2011 FootballScoop Defensive Coordinator of the Year presented by SpeedTracs.

Chavis has spent 23 seasons in the SEC, 17 of those as a defensive coordinator. He spent nearly twenty years at Tennessee under Phil Fulmer, and has proven himself as one of the most respected defensive minds in all of football. Chavis won a national title with Fulmer in 1998 and was named AFCA Assistant coach of the year in 2006. Today, Chief was named the 2011 winner of the Broyles Award as well.

Chavis is in his third season in Baton Rouge, and has led one of the most exciting defensive units in the country allowing only 10.5 points per game (#2), and rank 3rd in rush defense (85 ypg), 3rd in pass efficiency defense (93.05), and second in total defense (252 ypg).

Screen Shot_2011-12-06_at_9.18.32_PM

Chief has led a unit that has gained 30 turnovers on the season (12 fumbles, 18 interceptions) and are #1 in the nation in turnover margin (1.69). A large part of that success has been due to the pass rush that ranks #13 in the nation in sacks and (3 per game), and #10 in tackles for loss with almost 8 per game. The front seven have been very solid through their 12 games, allowing for only 2.61 (#3) yards per carry and have only given up 6 rushing touchdowns on the season (#2).

The defensive line seems appears to be about 10 deep and are strong and fast. Heisman hopeful, “honey badger” Tyrann Mathieu, has also attracted the attention of signal callers with his knack for finding the ball and quick strike ability coming off the edge rushing.

Defensive Back Morris Claiborne has been one the nation’s top performers in the secondary hauling in 6 interceptions and turning them into 173 yards (which leads the country) and a touchdown. Claiborne is the type of player that takes away half of the field, he has only defended 12 passes all season, and has broken up 6 of them. Mathieu has also been a key contributor in the secondary accounting for 6 forced fumbles (#3 in the country).

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Chavis, Greg Mattison, Pat Narduzzi and Kirby Smart) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

Previous winners of the Defensive Coordinator of the Year award are Nick Holt (USC, 2008), Kirby Smart (Alabama, 2009) and Vic Fangio (Stanford, 2010).


2nd Nationally - Scoring Defense

2nd Nationally - Total Defense

3rd Nationally - Rush Defense

9th Nationally - Turnovers Gained

2nd Nationally - Rushing Touchdowns 

10th Nationally - Tackles for Loss

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit