Skip to main content

Mark Helfrich - 2010 Quarterbacks Coach of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Mark Helfrich (Oregon) is the 2010 FootballScoop Quarterbacks Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs. 

Under the tutelage of Mark Helfrich, quarterback Darron Thomas excelled as a first-year starter, leading Oregon to a 12-0 record. It’s hard to imagine that Helfrich could be any prouder of his quarterback, who completed 60% of his attempts with 28 touchdowns / 7 interceptions. The Ducks finished with 8th best (nationally) touchdown to interception ratio. Helfrich is in his second year as offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach at Oregon.

Mark Helfrich

Head coach Chip Kelly told FootballScoop, “I have long thought of Mark Helfrich as one of the brightest offensive minds in the country and the job he has done his first two years at Oregon has only substantiated that notion. His handling of two quarterbacks this season who were void of a lot of game experience and transforming the position into one of the team’s strengths was undoubtedly one of the keys to our success in 2010.”

Only a red-shirt sophomore, Thomas was in complete control of the up tempo offense for 12 consecutive weeks. In fact, in the final seven games of the regular season, Thomas threw just 2 interceptions. Oregon finished 1st nationally in scoring offense (49 PPG) and 2nd nationally in total offense (537 YPG). Amazingly, the Ducks finished the season with 224 plays of 10+ yards.

Helfrich has to be happy that his quarterback helped the Ducks finish 5th nationally in fewest sacks allowed (0.67 per game). The offense converted an impressive 45% of third-down opportunities., while Thomas threw for 209 yards per game.

Oregon will play Auburn in the BCS National Championship game on January 10th in Glendale, Arizona.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Helfrich, Bryan Harsin - Boise State, Mike O'Cain - Virginia Tech and Nick Rolovich - Hawaii) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the 2010 winners.

Previous winners of the Quarterbacks Coach of the Year award are Josh Heupel (Oklahoma, 2008) and Tom Rossley (Texas A&M, 2009).


12-0 and PAC-10 Champions

1st Nationally - Scoring Offense (49 PPG)

2nd Nationally - Total Offense (537 YPG)

5th Nationally - Fewest Sacks Allowed (0.67 / game)

8th Nationally - Touchdown to INT Ratio

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit