Skip to main content
Publish date:

Philip Montgomery - 2011 Quarterbacks Coach of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Philip Montgomery (Baylor) is the 2011 FootballScoop Quarterbacks Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs. 

Baylor quarterbacks coach, and co-offensive coordinator Philip Montgomery has taken quarterback Robert Griffin III to new heights. Head coach Art Briles told FootballScoop, “Philip is very deserving of this award, he’s been with me for 16 years and has a tremendous mind, instinct and work ethic. I’m proud of him and his contribution to our success. He has been instrumental in the development of Kevin Kolb, Case Keenum and RG3. He always has the best interests of the student-athletes in mind.”

Screen Shot_2011-12-08_at_3.28.45_PM

This season, through the first five games of the season, RG3 had thrown for 18 touchdowns, and only 20 incompletions. RG3, a Heisman finalist, has undoubtedly been the most explosive player in recent memory for the Bears. In his first season at Baylor, Montgomery led Griffin to a freshman all American campaign and RG3 has steadily improved each year since. This year Griffin set an NCAA record for passing efficiency (192.31) while throwing for almost 4,000 yards and 36 touchdowns to only 6 picks. Griffin has also seen success on the ground, picking up 644 yards.

Griffin has led the Bear’s electric offense to a #2 ranking in total offense, while he also ranks #2 nationally in offensive production (4,642 total yards – 387 yards per game). RG3 has also completed over 72% of his passes, ranking #5 nationally and leads the nation in yards per attempt with 10.8.

Griffin burst onto the scene in the first game this season with a 50 – 48 shootout over TCU, going 21 of 27 for 359 yards and 5 touchdowns against a Horned Frog defense that led the country in total defense for three consecutive seasons. Griffin led the Bears to a 30 point performance in all but two games this season, and they averaged almost 44 points per game (#6).

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Montgomery, Pep Hamilton of Stanford and Kliff Kingsbury of Houston) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

Previous winners of the Quarterbacks Coach of the Year award are Josh Heupel (Oklahoma, 2008), Tom Rossley (Texas A&M, 2009) and Mark Helfrich (Oregon, 2010).


2nd Nationally in Total Offense 

 6th Nationally in Scoring Offense

RG3 36 TDs vs. 6 Ints.

RG3 5th in Completion %

RG3 1st in Yards per Attempt

RG3 2nd Nationally in Total Offense accounted for

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit