Skip to main content

XFL set to name eighth and final head coach for inaugural season

The XFL is reportedly set to name its eighth and final head coach, as John McClain of the Houston Chronicle reported Monday that June Jones will lead the Houston team.

All seven head coaches for the inaugural season of the re-launched XFL have been previously announced. They are:

-- Bob Stoops, Dallas
-- Winston Moss, Los Angeles
-- Pep Hamilton, Washington, DC
-- Marc Trestman, Tampa Bay
-- Jim Zorn, Seattle
-- Jonathan Hayes, St. Louis
-- Kevin Gilbride, New York

Jones is a football journeyman and a pioneer of the Run 'n' Shoot offense, which was taken to its apex by the Houston Cougar teams of the early 1990s. Jones played quarterback at Oregon, Hawaii and Portland State, and played professionally in the NFL and CFL.

He went into coaching in 1983, where he has coached in the NCAA, the USFL, the NFL and, now, the CFL, where he spent the past two seasons as the head coach of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. He stepped aside as head coach after the 2018 campaign but agreed to remain on in 2019 as the Ti-Cats' offensive coordinator. The CFL season runs through the summer, so Jones could theoretically do both.

Jones was last season on the continental United States as the head coach at SMU, where he went 36-43 in parts of seven seasons. He also led Hawaii to an undefeated regular season and a Sugar Bowl appearance in 2007; Jones also served as head coach of the Atlanta Falcons from 1994-96 and as interim head coach of the San Diego Chargers in 1998, where he took over for his new XFL colleague, Kevin Gilbride.

The XFL is set to begin play on Feb. 8 of next year.

As always, stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.